Michigan Government Orders Toddlers Age 2 to 4 To Wear Facemasks
Children age 2 to 4 will be required to wear face masks in gatherings starting April 26 under a new epidemic order issued Friday by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Previous orders had exempted all children under the age of 5.
The state defines a "Gathering" as "any occurrence, either indoor or outdoor, where two or more persons from more than one household are present in a shared space."
According to officials, “This addresses the increase in cases among younger Michiganders and follows recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance.”
The order states that in regards to camps and child care, "A good faith effort is made to ensure that children aged 2 to 4 years wear a mask when participating in gatherings."
The order also lists who is exempt from wearing a face mask.
"Exceptions to face mask requirements. Although a face mask is strongly encouraged even for individuals not required to wear one (except for children under the age of 2), the requirement to wear a face mask in gatherings as required by this order does not apply to individuals who:
a. Are younger than 2 years old;"
The order is extended until May 25.
Michigan Capitol Confidential is the news source produced by the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. Michigan Capitol Confidential reports with a free-market news perspective.