News Bite

New York Metro States To Michigan Residents: Come Here And You Sit Inside Two Weeks

The states of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut added Michigan on Tuesday to the list of states subject to travel quarantine restrictions. Individuals who travel to those states from Michigan must self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival, according to the New York state health department.

The quarantine requirements mean a person may not leave the quarters they have identified as suitable for their quarantine.

Food must be delivered to the quarantined person’s quarters.

Michigan joins 36 other states on the three eastern states' quarantine list. The list is based on a seven-day rolling average of positive COVID-19 tests in excess of 10% or a number of positive cases exceeding 10 per 100,000 residents.

Michigan Capitol Confidential is the news source produced by the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. Michigan Capitol Confidential reports with a free-market news perspective.