News Bite

Perpetual State Of Emergency? Michigan One Of 15 States That Don’t Rule It Out

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer said at an Aug. 19 press conference that practically every state in the country is under a state of emergency.

“As you probably know, I think 49 out of 50 States have a state of emergency of one sort or another right now,” Whitmer said.

Far less common are states where the laws does not limit how long a state of emergency can remain in effect. Other than Michigan, there appear to be 14 such states, according to an analysis by the National Conference of State Legislatures.

The NCSL found that Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia and Wyoming do not have any specific law that limits how long a state of emergency can remain in effect.


Michigan Capitol Confidential is the news source produced by the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. Michigan Capitol Confidential reports with a free-market news perspective.