News Story

Who's Moving Up In Next Year's Michigan Legislature

Party breakdowns, and who's new in Senate

David Guenthner is senior strategist for state affairs at the Mackinac Center for Public Policy and the Mackinac Center’s first full-time government affairs lobbyist.

Guenthner prepared a list that distills some key facts about the next state Legislature after Tuesday’s election.

The new Senate will have 22 Republicans and 16 Democrats.


  • 6 returning senators: Mike Shirkey, Dale Zorn, Peter MacGregor, Ken Horn, Jim Stamas and Wayne Schmidt
  • 9 current House members: Jim Runestad, Peter Lucido, John Bizon, Kim LaSata, Lana Theis, Tom Barrett, Dan Lauwers, Roger Victory and Curt VanderWall
  • 6 former House members: Ruth Johnson, Aric Nesbitt, Kevin Daley, Rick Outman, Jon Bumstead and Ed McBroom
  • 1 with no previous legislative experience: Michael MacDonald


  • 2 returning senators: Jim Ananich and Curtis Hertel
  • 5 current House members: Stephanie Chang, Sylvia Santana, Erika Geiss, Jeremy Moss and Winnie Brinks
  • 3 former House members: Jeff Irwin, Paul Wojno and Sean McCann
  • 6 with no previous legislative experience: Adam Hollier, Marshall Bullock, Betty Jean Alexander, Dayna Polehanki, Rosemary Bayer and Mallory McMorrow

The new House will have 58 Republicans and 52 Democrats.


  • 36 returning members
  • 22 new members


  • 28 returning members
  • 1 current senator: Rebekah Warren, who was termed out of the Senate but still has two years eligibility in the House
  • 23 new members

Michigan Capitol Confidential is the news source produced by the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. Michigan Capitol Confidential reports with a free-market news perspective.