Around the same time a Republican majority in the Michigan House failed to pass a 0.2 percent income tax cut, all but six Republicans in the Michigan Senate voted to give $1.8 billion taxpayer dollars to a handful of developers over the next 20 years. There were 20 Republicans and seven Democrats who voted “yes.” No Democrats opposed the handouts, but six did not vote, along with one Republican who did not vote.

Six Republicans voted ‘no’: Pat Colbeck (Canton), Judy Emmons (Sheridan), Joe Hune (Fowlerville), Phil Pavlov (St. Clair Township), Tori Rocca (Sterling Heights) and Tonya Schuitmaker (Lawton).

Here’s a list of the Republicans who voted "Yes."

Darwin Booher, Evart

Tom Casperson, Escanaba

Mike Green, Mayville

Goeff Hansen, Hart

Dave Hildenbrand, Lowell

Ken Horn, Frankenmuth

Stay Engaged

Receive our weekly emails!

Rick Jones, Grand Ledge

Marty Knollenberg,, Troy

Mike Kowall, White Lake

Peter MacGregor, Rockford

Jim Marleau, Lake Orion

Senate Majority Leader Arlan Meekhof, Olive Township

Mike Nofs, Battle Creek

Margaret O'Brien,Portage

John Proos, St. Joseph

Dave Robertson, Grand Blanc

Wayne Schmidt, Traverse City

Mike Shirkey, Clarklake

Jim Stamas, Midland

Dale Zorn, Ida

Related Articles:

The Lawmakers that Voted for the Most Business Subsidies and the Least

Tilt from Tax Cutting to Corporate Welfare Renews Failed Approach to Economic Growth

22 Of 498 Michigan Legislators Said 'No' To Corporate Welfare Since 2001

Return of the Mega Subsidy

Michigan Crushes Korea in Corporate Welfare Handouts

The Allure of Corporate Welfare

Stay Engaged

Simply enter your email below to receive our weekly email:


Detroit Prep is a top-rated and economically and racially diverse charter school in the city. It's growth means it needs to move out from a church basement and into a new location. Nearby is a former Detroit Public Schools building, sitting empty for years. But, worried about competition, the public school district refused to sell. For years, district and local government officials in Detroit had worked to block public charter schools. They pushed legislation at the Michigan Capitol to hinder them, refused to sell to them, transferred surplus buildings from the district to the city government and imposed deed restrictions on property sales to private developers. All of it was aimed to hinder or even prevent charter school choice outside the confines of the Detroit school district.

Related Sites