Washington Watch

6 Michigan reps in Congress have yet to submit a bill in 2023

Neither senator, Peters or Stabenow, has submitted a bill

The 118th Congress just finished its first month of service. In that time, seven of Michigan’s 13 representatives in the U.S. House have submitted bills. Six others have not.

Here are the six lawmakers who’ve not submitted bills so far:

  • Dan Kildee, D-Flint
  • John James, R-Farmington Hills
  • Rashida Tlaib, D-Dearborn
  • Hillary Scholten, D-Grand Rapids
  • Elissa Slotkin, D-Lansing
  • Haley Stevens, D-Birmingham

Of the seven lawmakers who submitted bills, three only submitted one.

Bill Huizenga, R-Holland, submitted the “Stop Trying to Obsessively Vilify Energy Act.”

Lisa McClain, R-Bruce Township, submitted a resolution called “Expressing support for the Supreme Court’s decision in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization,” which said that abortion is not right found in the U.S. Constitution. McClain’s resolution says the House “commits itself to supporting policies that continue to protect all life,” but does not call for specific policies or changes in law.

First-term Rep. Shri Thanedar, D-Detroit, submitted the “Stopping Abusive Student Loan Collection Practices in Bankruptcy Act of 2023.”

Debbie Dingell, D-Ann Arbor, and Tim Walberg, R-Tipton, have both submitted two bills. John Moolenaar, R-Caledonia, has submitted three.

Jack Bergman, R-Watersmeet, has submitted the most bills of anyone in Michigan’s congressional delegation, with seven.

Neither of Michigan’s two senators, Democrats Gary Peters and Debbie Stabenow, have submitted a bill thus far in 2023.

Michigan Capitol Confidential is the news source produced by the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. Michigan Capitol Confidential reports with a free-market news perspective.